Pokémon of the Week

Something I had done every Friday while a student at Waynesburg University was a radio show that I called Pokémon Friday.  It was not much different than a regular radio shift, just playing music and giving updates, etc… except that I always did a Pokémon of the Week segment.  Now I no longer have a radio show, but I wanted to bring life back to the Pokémon of the Week.  So, without further adieu, the Pokémon of the Week here on Uruzar’s blog is…

Number 458 in the PokéDex, Mantyke, the Kite Pokémon!  This Water and Flying type combination hails from the Sinnoh region and evolves into Mantine when leveled up while there is a Remoraid in the party.  Mantyke has the abilities of Swift Swim and Water Absorb, and the hidden ability of Water Veil.  Mantyke is part of the Undiscovered egg group.  If you hold off on evolving Mantyke till level 49, he will learn one of the most powerful Water-type attacks, Hydro Pump.

Mantyke, or baby Pokémon in general, are not ones I dabble with often.  Usually I just catch and evolve the Mantyke a quickly as I can for the PokéDex data and then store him in the PC, never to been heard from again.  Ruthless, I know, but baby Pokémon are very difficult to work with in my eyes.  Yes, they are great for the Little Cup if you are in to that kind of competitive fighting, and yes the baby Pokémon do have some nice evolutions, but all-in-all, they are, more often than not, just PokéDex fodder for me.  And do not get me wrong, I love the egg-hatching aspect of Pokémon and I enjoy having the baby Pokémon in the game (I still remember hatching my first Togepi on Pokémon Gold… Ah, memories!) but the Pokémon themselves are often not ones I use in my regular party. That all being said, Mantyke is not a half-bad baby Pokémon.  Mantine is a fun Pokémon (even if the Water/Flying type combination is a bit of a drag) and I really enjoy the way to evolve Mantyke.  Needing a Remoraid in the party is a great little hat-tip to the original art of Mantine where he has a Remoraid at the bottom of his wing.

I welcome all requests for the next Pokémon of the Week.  If you have one, please post the name of the Pokémon in the comments.  Please be aware of the following rules:
I will not do the same region within three weeks of itself
I will not do a duplicate Pokémon until I have gone through all of them (That will take some time!)
I will no do a member of the same evolutionary chain as the Pokémon of the past week (Example: I will not do Magmar one week and Magby the next)
All requests have to be in by 10 pm ET on Thursday for the request to count for that upcoming Friday.
All requests must be posted on the most recent Pokémon of the Week post.  Anywhere else will be disregarded.

Photo Credit: Bulbapedia

Leave a Reply

